2015 Is Here!

Welcome to 2015, dear (hungover) readers!

It’s been a little over a year since I started this blog, although it doesn’t really seem like it since some setbacks kept me from posting for a number of months. Nevertheless, I’m proud to say I’ve doubled my readership this year! That’s right, I now have two people following my blog! The downside is that, from here on, it’s only going to get harder to double my followers….

If you’ve been reading this blog since the beginning, you’ll know that the format of my entries has changed. Most significantly, I’ve ditched the rating system that I used in early posts. It seemed unfair to apply an arbitrary rating system to commentary tracks that were obviously created with varying purposes in mind. Some were intended to inform listeners, others to entertain them, and still others (perhaps the majority) to amuse the commentators…or maybe to inflate their own importance. In other words, too many of them were crappy, and the numbers were getting depressing.

I did come across some very interesting commentaries, though, and I’m starting to think it’s all about the commentator, not the movie. Wes Craven on Scream and A Nightmare on Elm Street, David Cronenberg on The Fly, William Friedkin on The Exorcist, even Victor Salva on Jeepers Creepers, all of these directors have the doubly rare ability to not only create unique and frightening films, but to discuss them in a meaningful way.

That’s why I started this blog in the first place: to find filmmakers who understand that commentary tracks offer them an opportunity to share their thoughts on their craft and present them in a lecture or round-table format, using the particular film as a case study. And hey, it doesn’t hurt that I get to pretend I’m actually interviewing some big-name people in the process.

I look forward to a new year of finding (hopefully) worthwhile commentaries and sharing them you, and finding other horror blogs that have something to say about a genre that is, all too often, not taken seriously. With any luck, by this time next year I might even have four followers….

Anyway, Happy New Year from DVD Commentary!

What do you think? Are there any commentaries you’d like me to write about this year? Any suggestions on how we can improve this blog? Leave your comments below and let us know!

One thought on “2015 Is Here!

  1. Pingback: Spreading Whedon’s Wisdom | DVD Commentary

What do you think?

